Pittsburgh Penguins’ Matt Murray Is Ambassador For Hockey Is For Everyone

The National Hockey League, all of its teams, and the NHL Players’ Association announced Wednesday that in February they are putting their focus on community-related actions for Hockey Is For Everyone. It is the 19th year of the initiative which encourages diversity and inclusion in the world of hockey.

This campaign works with the You Can Play Project, a non-profit organization helping the LGBTQ community across sports. The HIFE project affirms the official policy of the game is one of inclusion and respect for every person.

NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman commented on the league website, “Our Clubs, our players and our fans are committed to welcoming everyone to hockey. While the NHL family strives for diversity and inclusiveness all year long, February is Hockey Is For Everyone month, which will highlight, on a daily basis, the many ways our sport brings greater attention, heightened awareness and broader opportunities.”

For the Pittsburgh Penguins, 23-year-old goaltender Matt Murray stepped forward to be the Black and Gold’s ambassador in continuing the progress of understanding and diversity. He recognized the opportunity to offer his help.

Murray told Michelle Crechiolo on the team’s web page, “I feel for those who don’t feel included, so it’s just about trying to promote that inclusive environment,” he said. “No matter where you are in life and no matter who you are. There’s still a lot of things to improve on and there probably will be for a long time. But it’s about taking those steps towards it and always progressing towards that idea of what you want things to be like. It’s like how I always say with hockey too, it’s kind of a day-by-day, step-by-step thing to try and get to that.”

Here is the list of the players who are accepting the challenge to lead the way in their communities and be an advocate for the underrepresented, marginalized or disadvantaged.

Your 2018 Hockey Is For Everyone Ambassadors For Each Team:

Anaheim Ducks – Corey Perry

Arizona Coyotes – Oliver Ekman-Larsson

Boston Bruins – Brad Marchand

Buffalo Sabres – Ryan O’Reilly

Carolina Hurricanes – Trevor van Riemsdyk

Columbus Blue Jackets – Seth Jones

Calgary Flames – Matt Stajan

Chicago Blackhawks – Tommy Wingels

Colorado Avalanche – Gabriel Landeskog

Dallas Stars – Tyler Seguin

Detroit Red Wings – Justin Abdelkader

Edmonton Oilers – Jujhar Khaira

Florida Panthers – Aaron Ekblad

Los Angeles Kings – Dustin Brown

Minnesota Wild – Charlie Coyle

Montreal Canadiens – Andrew Shaw

Nashville Predators – Kyle Turris

New Jersey Devils – Andy Greene

New York Islanders – Casey Cizikas

New York Rangers – Mats Zuccarello

Ottawa Senators – Dion Phaneuf

Philadelphia Flyers – Claude Giroux

San Jose Sharks – Chris Tierney

St. Louis Blues – Carter Hutton

Tampa Bay Lightning – Alex Killorn

Toronto Maple Leafs – James van Riemsdyk

Vancouver Canucks – Henrik Sedin

Vegas Golden Knights – Pierre-Édouard Bellemare

Washington Capitals – Braden Holtby

Winnipeg Jets – Jacob Trouba

These players are joined by NHL Officials, Shandor Alphonso and Dave Jackson, as well as six additional ambassadors. They are former SFC. Joseph Bowser of the U.S. Army, Harrison Browne of the NWHL, Hockey Hall of Famer Angela James, Josh Pauls – Captain of the U.S. National Sled team, Fred Sasakamoose – the first indigenous player in the NHL, and broadcaster Harnarayan Singh.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Reporting breaking news from the world of professional sports. Featured on ESPN, CBS Sports and more. Did You See That?! If not, we did.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,853 other subscribers

Copyright © 2017 Did You See That?!. Powered by SportsMonger.

To Top